Entrepreneurs on Twitter

[update 11-9-2009] Twitter added a new feature for lists so I created this list here

I've been wondering how the previous list of entrepreneur bloggers I posted maps to Twitter so I redid the list (order is now by Twitter followers which is the number in parentheses).  80% of the bloggers on the list are on Twitter.  One thing that jumps out immediately is that several of the top bloggers are not (yet) on Twitter including: Seth Godin, Markus Frind, Linus Torvalds and Marc Andreessen among others.  I suspect there's a "sunk cost" argument driving this.  I think one of the reasons that Twitter is so popular is that it is a rare opportunity to redo the natural order of things (as evidenced by the changes indicated in the list below).  It is also a lot easier to Twitter than to blog. If you want to bulk scribe to all of these folks, see the instructions at the bottom of the list:

  1. Evan Williams, 0 (@ev) CEO @ Twitter (858,155)
  2. Kevin Rose, +13 (@kevinrose) Founder Digg (759,376)
  3. Tim O'Reilly, +3 (@timoreilly) Founder / CEO of O'Reilly Media (525,728)
  4. Rob McNealy (@robmcnealy) Entrepreneur (97,989)
  5. Jason Calacanis, +3 (@jasoncalacanis) CEO of Mahalo (68,583)
  6. Chris Pirillo, +9 (@chrispirillo) Geek, Internet entrepreneur, hardware addict, et al (65,181)
  7. Jerell Klaver, 0 (@jerell) Co-founder Salas Bath (60,578)
  8. Mark Cuban, +11 (@mcuban) Owner Dallas Mavericks; Founder Broadcast.com (59,888)
  9. Ed Stivala, 0 (@N3W_Media) Founder @ N3W_media (48,126) 
  10. Jeff Pulver, +13 (@jeffpulver) VOIP entrepreneur (26,538)
  11. Loic Le Meur, +20 (@loic) Founder / CEO Seesmic, Founder Le Web (26,499)
  12. Dave McClure, +20  (@davemcclure) Serial entrepreneur now adviser (20,100)
  13. Arianna Huffington, 0 (@ariannahuff) Founder Huffington Post (12,279) 
  14. Craig Newmark, +25 (@craignewmark) Craig from Craigslist (12,030)
  15. Jason Fried, -6 (@jasonfried) 37signals co-founder Jason Fried (11,475)
  16. David Heinemeier Hansson, -2 (@dhh) Co-founder 37signals (11,249)
  17. Paul Stamatiou, +29 (@stammy) Founder / CEO @ Skribit (11,204)
  18. Anil Dash, +25 (@anildash) Co-founder Six Apart (11,041)
  19. Ross Mayfield, +7 (@ross) Co-founder / President of SocialText (10,970)
  20. Joel Spolsky, -13 (@spolsky) Founder / CEO at Fog Creek Software (9,558)
  21. Mitch Kapor, +55 (@mkapor) Founder Lotus (9,287)
  22. Jason Shellen, +29 (@shellen) Founder / CEO at Plinky (7,555)
  23. Dharmesh Shah, -6 (@dharmesh) Founder / CEO of HubSpot (7,102)
  24. David Sifry, +6 (@dsifry) Founder / CEO at Technorati (6,713)
  25. Caterina Fake, +18 (@caterina) Co-founder Flickr (6,595)
  26. Steve Woda, +50 (@stevewoda) Founder buySAFE (5,792) 
  27. Elliott Ng, 0 (@elliottng) VP Marketing @ Kango.com (4,843)
  28. Maggie Fox, 0 (@maggiefox) CEO @ Social Media Group (4,797)
  29. Andrew Chen, -3 (@anderw_chen) Serial entrepreneur (3,971)
  30. Garrett Camp, 0 (@gmc) Founder / CEO @ StumbleUpon (3,576)
  31. Charlie O'Donnell, 0 (@ceonyc) Founder / CEO @ Path 101 
  32. Jonathan Schwartz, -13 (@SunCEOBlog) CEO at Sun (2,964)
  33. Christopher Carfi, +9 (@ccarfi) Co-founder Cerado (2,820)
  34. Eric Ries, +10 (@ericries) CTO and serial entrepreneur (2,639)
  35. Jon Bischke, 0 (@jonbischke) Founder / CEO @ EduFire (2,484) 
  36. Ilya Grigorik, 0 (@igrigorik) Founder / CTO @ PostRank (1891)
  37. Rahul Sood, +26 (@rahulsood) Founder VoodooPC (1,889)
  38. Noah Kagan, 0 (@noahkagan) Founder @ Getgambit (1,747)
  39. Nivi Babak, -15 (@nivi) Entrepreneurs helping entrepreneurs succeed (1,637)
  40. TheFunded, -3 (@thefunded) Various C-level executives at startups (1,582)
  41. Benjamin Yoskovitz, -7 (@byosko) Founder / CEO StandoutJobs (1,477)
  42. Rajesh Setty, +1 (@upbeatnow) Serial entrepreneur (1,405)
  43. Dan Bricklin, -7 (@danb) VisiCalc co-creater (1,365)
  44. Steve Blank, -5 (@sgblank) Retired serial entrepreneur now professor of entrepreneurship (1,304)
  45. Prasad Thammineni, +23 (@pixily_CEO) Serial entrepreneur and founder at Pixily (1,246)
  46. Mark Pincus, +26 (@markpinc) Serial entrepreneur / recovering VC (1,224)
  47. Gabor Cselle, +9 (@gabor) A blog about email and startups (1,175)
  48. Leon Ho, 0 (@leonho) Founder Stepcase & blogger @ Lifehack (1,193) 
  49. James Hong, +6 (@jhong) Founder Hot or Not (1,111)
  50. Tony Wright, +8 (@webright) Founder / CEO RescueTime (1,024)
  51. Mick Hagen, 0 (@mickhagen) Founder @ Zinch (968) 
  52. Jana Eggers, +28 (@jeggers) CEO of SPRD.net AG (879)
  53. David Cancel, +25 (@dcancel) Co-founder & CTO at Lookery.com (823)
  54. Sean Ellis, +7 (@seanellis) Serial CMO / VP Marketing (818)
  55. Daniel Tunkelang, +18 (@dtunkelang) Chief Scientist at Endeca (769)
  56. Naval Ravikant, -30 (@naval) Entrepreneurs helping entrepreneurs succeed (762)
  57. Pito Salas, +27 (@pitosalas) Founder BlogBridge; former CTO eRoom (754)
  58. Adam Wexler, 0 (@thewordpainter) Founder Rank'em (616)
  59. Chester Ng, 0 (@chest) Founder @ OpenCandy (567)
  60. Philip Hotchkiss, 0 (@philiphotchkiss) Founder / CEO @ BigCharts (564) 
  61. Steve Barsh, +14 (@sbarsh) Serial enterpreneur / interim executive (561)
  62. Barney Pell, +6 (@barneyp) CEO of Powerset (556)
  63. Laurent Feral-Pierssens, +34 (@lfp) Founder / CEO Silentale (532)
  64. Sean Lindsay, 0 (@rseanlindsay) Co-founder / CTO @ Viximo (517) 
  65. David Hauser, +30 (@dh) Co-founder ReturnPath; CEO Grasshopper (487)
  66. Jonathan Mendez, -20 (@jonathanmendez) Serial entrepreneur, online ad expert (477)
  67. Greg Reinacker, 0 (@gregr) Founder & CTO at NewsGator (477)
  68. Joe Krauss, -13 (@jkraus) Entrepreneur (473)
  69. Furqan Nazeeri, -13 (@altgate) Startups, venture capital & everything in between (428)
  70. Jules Pieri, +24 (@julespieri) CEO at Daily Grommet (414)
  71. Carson McComas, -36 (@carson) Entrepreneur (419)
  72. Jonathan Gross, 0 (@rubp) Founder / CEO @ BioDATA (393)
  73. Matt Blumberg, -13 (@mattblumberg) CEO @ ReturnPath (368)
  74. Alan Meckler, +17 (@alanmeckler) CEO WebMediaBrands (351)
  75. Dave Kellogg, -6 (@ramblingman) CEO of Mark Logic Corporation (349)
  76. Jeff Bennett, -2 (@dealsbennett) Entrepreneur (347) 
  77. Valto Loikkanen, 0 (@valto) Serial entrepreneur (339)
  78. Brian Balfour, 0 (@bbalfour) Co-founder / VP Product @ Viximo (287) 
  79. Various Entrepreneurs, +16 (@founding) Founder Institute (286)
  80. Jeff Avallon, 0 (@IdeaPaintJeff) CoFounder @ IdeaPaint (281)
  81. Doug Levin, +13 (@dalev) Entrepreneur / former CEO at Black Duck Software (258)
  82. Sim Simeonov, -4 (@simeons) Entrepreneur; recovering VC (248)
  83. Andrew Payne, -3 (@payne92) Serial entrepreneur (240)
  84. Angus Davis, 0 (@angusdav) Entrepreneur (199) 
  85. James Siminoff, -4 (@grid) Founder / CEO at PhoneTag (184)
  86. Alain Raynaud, +3 (@alain94040) Founder FairSoftware (182)
  87. Michael Gracie, (@michaelgracie) Serial COO / CTO (174)
  88. Morgen Newman, 0 (@IdeaPaintMojo) CoFounder @ IdeaPaint
  89. Alicia Rismach, 0 (@aliciarismach) Co-founder and VP @ SeerGate (163) 
  90. Colin Wong, 0 (@colinwong) CEO @ Zoecity.com (133) 
  91. Tom Keller, +15 (@tkeller) Founder & former CEO of Intense Debate (117)
  92. Matt Lauzon, 0 (@mattlauzon) Founder Paragon Lake (110)
  93. Jay Jamison, +19 (@jeremiahjamison) Serial entrepreneur (100)
  94. Bert Armijo, -12 (@barmijo) Co-founder & SVP at 3tera (81)
  95. Charles Teague, +1 (@dragonstyle) Technologist-in-Residence at General Catalyst (59)
  96. Jon Gillespie-Brown, +13 (@gillespiebrown) Serial entrepreneur (40)
  97. Brian Shin, -2 (@brianshin) Founder / CEO at Visible Measures (14)

If you want to bulk subscribe to all of these folks, one way is to use NinjaFollow.  You can copy these screen names and paste them into NinjaFollow, press submit and voila! 

Lastly, I'm sure there are many entrepreneurs on Twitter that didn't show up in this list (which was originally created as a list of entrepreneur bloggers).  Post comments here with my omissions.

p5rn7vb